Monte Cofano

Monte Cofano
2 h 00 min
Duration
6,80 Km
Length
250 m
Difference in level

m067

Sentiero Monte Cofano

Siti archeologici e torri difensive che costeggiano il mare, con le onde che si stagliano sulle pareti rocciose, realizzando suggestivi giochi d’acqua. Spettacolare!

 

Scarica Traccia GPS Scarica Scheda Sentiero in PDF

Ciò che colpisce subito di Monte Cofano è la sua maestosità solitaria. Sembra quasi che si voglia staccare dalla costa e tuffarsi nel mare blu, le cui acque bagnano le pendici. Il percorso ad anello si sviluppa dentro la Riserva Naturale Orientata Monte Cofano. Istituita nel 1997 e gestita dall’Azienda Regionale Foreste Demaniali, copre un’area di 537 ettari ed è un promontorio racchiuso tra il Golfo di Bonagia e il Golfo di Cofano, formatosi per il sollevamento di imponenti depositi calcarei marini.

Si parte da Cala Buguto, presso Baia di Cornino (nel territorio di Custonaci). Il sentiero procede lungo la costa incontaminata, priva di insediamenti, caratterizzata dalla tipica macchia mediterranea (palma nana, cisto, disa, orchidee selvatiche, …), piuttosto rada ma ricca di specie endemiche (erica sicula, elicriso cophanense, cavolo di trapani, …) che colorano in ogni stagione dell’anno il manto roccioso della montagna. L’area offre vedute panoramiche spettacolari: le pareti rocciose si innalzano vertiginosamente dalle profondità del mare e le onde si stagliano sugli scogli realizzando suggestivi giochi d’acqua.

Dopo aver percorso poco più di 1 km, si giunge alla Torre di San Giovanni (XVI sec.). Recentemente restaurata, faceva parte del sistema di fortificazioni volute dal regno borbonico a difesa delle coste siciliane: comunicava perfettamente con le tonnare di Bonagia e di San Giuliano e in caso di avvistamenti nemici, i militari che presiedevano la torre segnalavano il pericolo con lo sventolio di bandiere e con lo sparo di armi da fuoco. Attraverso una scala in muratura si accede alla terrazza, antico luogo di segnalazione e posto perfetto da cui oggi si può ammirare un affascinante e naturalistico panorama. Poco più in là si trova la Grotta del Crocefisso, una caverna profonda una decina di metri nella quale sono stati rinvenuti reperti archeologici di età preistorica: con ogni probabilità offriva riparo agli abitanti in epoca neolitica. Ancora oggi sono visibili sul terreno di calpestio resti di un mollusco, ormai estinto, che faceva parte della dieta dei nostri antenati.

La vicina Cappella del Crocefisso, ancora oggi meta di pellegrinaggi dei devoti custonacensi, insieme all’Edicola di San Nicola di Bari, risalenti al XVIII sec., sono i frammenti di una cultura popolare e una testimonianza di fede, che racconta quanto era radicata la religiosità nella secolare devozione ai santi.

L’itinerario prosegue nella direzione di una conca collinare poco visibile dal mare, dove si trova un sito archeologico che gli esperti fanno risalire al V-IV secolo a.C. Recenti studi ipotizzano che si tratti dei resti dell’antica Eraclea greca. L’area presenta una via d’accesso delimitata da una cinta muraria e fortificazioni. Alla sommità del pianoro è stata ritrovata un’enorme cisterna che veniva utilizzata non solo per la raccolta delle acque ma anche come strumento difensivo. Scavata all’interno della roccia, c’è una scala: un ulteriore punto di difesa dell’insediamento.

Poco più avanti si giunge alla Torre della Tonnara di Cofano, risalente agli inizi del XVI secolo, detta anche Torre Tono, unica in Sicilia per la sua pianta a forma stellare e quadrata. Le pareti sono di pietrame informe a semplice curvatura, al fine di resistere ai colpi delle palle di cannone. Recentemente la torre è stata restaurata ed è visitabile. Oggi ospita al suo interno un’interessante mostra fotografica dedicata al sistema delle torri (le torri facevano parte del sistema di fortificazioni esistenti sulle coste siciliane, a difesa dai pirati turchi).

L’itinerario continua in salita in direzione sud, verso una piccola depressione, che si riempie periodicamente d’acqua, e che nel passato è servita come approvvigionamento idrico per le famiglie che abitavano in zona. Questa pozza stagionale è conosciuta come Gorgo Cofano: è nota perchè vi cresce la lenticchia d’acqua e, soprattutto, il ranuncolo di Baudot (una pianta acquatica dai fiori bianchi e gialli), ed è abitata da piccoli crostacei. Da qui, ci si può ricondurre al punto di partenza di Cala Buguto.

Riserva naturale orientata Monte Cofano

A salvaguardia del suggestivo promontorio di Monte Cofano che, aguzzo come un piccolo Cervino, si staglia sul mare tra il Golfo di Bonagia e quello di Makari, racchiude ben 651 entità infrageneriche di 83 famiglie vegetazionali. Qui la prateria di ampelodesma e la gariga a palma nana conserva ancora, infatti, pochi lembi di leccio (Quercus ilex), oltre a numerosi endemismi tra cui la Brassica drepanensis, l’Euphorbia bivonae, lo Hieracium cophanense e il Delphinium emarginatum definiscono condizioni di pregio naturalistico. Specialmente in primavera è possibile vedere fiorite le orchidee selvatiche. Riguardo alla fauna vi stanziano il falco pellegrino, il gheppio, la poiana, il corvo imperiale, il colombo selvatico, oltre al gabbiano comune.

Tonnara e torre di Cofano

Collocata in un contesto naturale di straordinaria bellezza, di fronte allo scoglio dello Scialandro e vicina alla Punta della Croce, l’ex tonnara di Cofano esisteva già nel 1404, anno in cui era di proprietà della famiglia Bosco; fu abitata fino alla metà del secolo XX.
Fonte di sostentamento economico dei pescatori della zona era una delle tonnare più pescose e attive per l’economia trapanese.
Adiacente alla tonnara era situata la torre risalente al XVI secolo e facente parte del sistema difensivo spagnolo delle coste siciliane. Edificata tra il 1556 e il 1560, ha una pianta quadrata stellare a quattro punte e rappresenta, con le sue pareti concave, un esempio unico in Sicilia.
Era in collegamento visivo, a nord-est con la torre dell’Isulidda a sud-est con torre Muzza; nessuna comunicazione era invece possibile con la vicina torre di San Giovanni perché ostruita dal monte Cofano.
La torre è stata acquisita al demanio regionale nel maggio del 2006. Restaurata con fondi della Comunità europea, è stata riaperta al pubblico nell’aprile del 2010.

Torre di San Giovanni

Situata in una posizione strategica, sulle falde del Monte Cofano, latorre detta “di San Giovanni”, eretta nel 1595 su progetto di Camillo Camiliani, faceva parte del sistema di torri costiere di avvistamento. In caso di pericolo i torrari dovevano suonare la brogna (conchiglia) e con fumo e fuochi, dalla terrazza, eseguire segnali (fani) per avvisare le altre torri e gli abitanti dell’entroterra dell’imminente arrivo di pirati. La torre di San Giovanni comunicava con quelle delle tonnare di Bonagia e di Monte San Giuliano.
Come tutte le altre camillanee ha pianta quadrata con alla base un possente terrapieno destinato a contenere la cisterna e il deposito per le munizioni; la copertura è con volta a botte formata da piccoli conci di tufo. Attraverso una scala in muratura si accede alla terrazza dalla quale si può ammirare un suggestivo panorama.

607_sentieri_small
img_4151
img_4155
img_4172

Tour Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Leave a Review

2 h 00 min
Duration
6,80 Km
Length
250 m
Difference in level

m067

Sentiero Monte Cofano

What immediately strikes those who look at Mount Cofano is its lonely majesty. It almost gives the impression of wanting to detach from the coast and dive into the blue sea.

 

Download GPS Track Download PDF datasheet

The route, loop-shaped, develops within the Riserva Naturale Orientata Monte Cofano (Mount Cofano Nature Reserve). Established in 1997 and managed by the Regional Department of Public Forests, it covers an area of approximately 537 hectares: it is a promontory enclosed between the Gulf of Bonagia and the Gulf of Cofano and it originated from the lifting of marine calcareous deposits.

The trail starts from Cala Buguto, in the Bay of Cornino (in the municipality of Custonaci) and passes through an unspoiled coastline with no houses, characterised by the typical Mediterranean maquis (dwarf palms, cistus, ampelodesma, wild orchids, etcetera), rather sparse but rich in endemic species (Sicilian heather, helicrysum cophanense, cavolo di Trapani-cabbage from Trapani, etcetera) which colour the mountain in all seasons. From here beautiful views can be admired: the cliffs rise steeply from the sea whose waves crash against the shoreline, thus creating charming water games.

After walking about 1 kilometer hikers get to Torre di San Giovanni (Tower of St. John, 16th century). Recently restored, it was part of the fortification system built by the Bourbons in order to protect the Sicilian coasts: it was perfectly connected to the “tonnare (tuna-fishing factories)” of Bonagia and San Cusumano (Erice) and, in case of sightings of enemies, the danger was signalled by waving flags and by gunshots. A stone staircase leads to the terrace, once used as a sighting point and now used as a panoramic place where a beautiful view can be enjoyed. A little further ahead is the Grotta del Crocefisso (Grotto of the Crucified), a cave approximately 10 meters deep, where some archaeological finds of prehistoric times have been found: in all likelihood it offered refuge to the inhabitants of the area in the Neolithic era. The remains of a mollusc, nowadays extinct, are still visible on the ground: it was part of the diet of our ancestors.

The nearby Cappella del Crocefisso (Chapel of the Crucified Christ), still today a pilgrimage destination, together with the Edicola di San Nicola di Bari (chapel of St. Nicholas from Bari), dating back to the 18th century, are expressions of a popular culture and witnesses of faith, which tell us how deep-rooted the religiousness is amongst the inhabitants of this area.

The itinerary continues towards a basin, which is not clearly visible from the sea, where is located an archaelogical site dating back to the 5th-4th century b.C.. Recent studies have suggested that they are the remains of Eraclea, an ancient Greek settlement. This area has a gateway bordered by a ring of fortified walls. In the upper part of the plateau there is a huge tank used not only to collect rainwater but also as defensive tool. A staircase is carved into the rock: an additional protection of the settlement.

A little further one is the Torre della Tonnara (tower of the tuna-fishing factory) di Cofano, dating back to the 16th century, also named Torre Tono, the only one in Sicily with a square plan forming a four-pointed star. Its walls are made of irregular stones with a single curvature, in order to better withstand cannon shots. The tower has been recently restored and it can be visited. Today it houses an interesting photographic exhibition dedicated to the defensive system of towers (the towers were part of the fortification system built in order to protect the Sicilian coasts from the Saracens).

The route continues uphill in a southerly direction, towards a small depression which periodically gets full of water: in the past it was used as water supply for the families who lived in this area. This seasonal pond is also known as Gorgo Cofano: it is best known because the duckweed and, above all, the ranunculus baudotii (a pond-water crowfoot with white and yellow flowers) grow: small crustaceans can also be found.
Cala Buguto (the starting point) is not far from here.

 

 

“Monte (Mount) Cofano” Nature Reserve

It protects the suggestive promontory of Monte (mount) Cofano which, pointed like a little mount Cervino (Matterhorn), stands out over the sea between the Gulfs of Bonagia and Makari, hosting about 651 varieties which, in turn, belong to 83 vegetation species. Here the meadows of ampelodesma (a typical Mediterranean plant) and the palmetto scrubland still preserve, in fact, a few strips of holm hoaks (Quercus ilex), as well as several endemic species among which the Brassica drepanensis, the Euphorbia bivonae, the Hieracium cophanense and the Delphinium emarginatum, which define conditions of great naturalistic value, especially in spring when wild orchids blooming can be seen. As regards the fauna visitors can observe various species of birds, such as peregrine falcons, kestrels, buzzards, ravens, wild pigeons, as well as common gulls.

Tonnara and Cofano tower

Situated in a natural setting of extraordinary beauty opposite the rock of the ‘Scialandro’ and close to ‘Cape of the Cross’, the former Cofano ‘tonnara’ already existed in 1404, when is was owned by the Bosco family. It was inhabited until the mid-twentieth century.
As the main source of economic livelihood for the fishermen of the area, it was one of the most active and productive tuna processing plants for the economy of Trapani.
Adjacent to the ‘tonnara’ is the tower dating back to the 16th century, part of the Spanish defense system along the coast of Sicily. Built between 1556 and 1560, it has a square four-pointed star shape and due to its concave walls represents a unique example of its kind in Sicily.
It was in visual contact to the north-east with the ‘Isulidda’ tower just across the bay, to the south-east with the ‘Muzza’ tower; no communication was possible however with the nearby tower of St. John because it was obstructed by Mount Cofano.
The tower was purchased by the Regional domain in May 2006. Restored with EU funds, it was reopened to the public in April 2010.

St. John’s tower

Designed by Camillo Camiliani and built in 1595, St. John’s Tower is situated in a strategic location on the slopes of Mount Cofano. It was part of the system of watchtowers positioned to defend the coast of Sicily. In the 16th century, on behalf of the Spanish government architects Spannocchi and Camilliani planned a sophisticated circuit of watchtowers along the Sicilian coast as a defense system against pirate attacks. In case of imminent danger, the ‘torrari’ ie tower keepers had to sound the ‘brogna’ (shell) and send smoke and fire signals (‘fani’) from the terrace to alert the other towers and the inhabitants of the hinterland. St. John’s tower was in communication with the towers of the Monte San Giuliano ‘tonnara’ and the one in Bonagia.
Like all ‘Camilliani’ towers, it is square with a strong embankment at the base for containing the cistern and as storage for ammunition. The covering is the form of a barrel vault made with small tuff bricks. By accessing a brick staircase you can reach the terrace and enjoy a breathtaking view.

 

607_sentieri_small
img_4151
img_4155
img_4172

Tour Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Leave a Review